Artrox Thinks Blog

A space for random connections

MEkerting a new movement May 1, 2009

Filed under: MEkerting — artroxthinks @ 4:48 am
Tags: , ,

OK so I keep moving around the internet leaving a little trail of MEkerting snippets.  I have posted about it when I first coined the term by complete mistake, but the more I read and the more I look around the more I feel it is a real movement.

So how is it different to the old adage “Customers are only interested in WII FM” that we traditional marketers all know and love?

Well it has more of a focus on the me – the consumer, the target market – rather than the ‘what’s in it for’ part of the acronym.  You see benefits are one thing, but you gotta sell the authenticity, the voice, the movement, the ethos, the invitation to engage and the reason to believe in your brand and be part of your brand.

Yep us brand builders are doing more than just banging out a line in a brightly coloured ad, we are putting out a conversation, we’re acually standing on the street corner with our hand outstretched these days.

So I hope that helps to differentiate marketing and MEkerting, vive la revolution!

The curious behaviour post that started it all

 

3 Responses to “MEkerting a new movement”

  1. I agree that people out there today want to know what’s in it for them.

    In the Camp Millionaire training we are taught to “enroll” the kids. Gone are the days of “tell them what you’re gonna tell them, tell them, then tell them what you told them”! You have to get not just the kids, but everybody, to be interested enough to pay attention to what you have to say. They have to see that there is something in it for them.

    We start a lot of the teaching segments with words like – How many of you…? or Imagine… We make it personal.

    I love it when I return to a place of business & they remember I’ve been there before; some even remember my name. That is not easy to do, but makes a huge difference to how people view your business and what you are offering them.

    That is also why I love Twitterers that are promoting interaction through their tweets and not just auto-twittering to thousands of followers just because.

    To promote our new Camp Millionaire in Michigan we are doing just what artrox says: we are standing on street corners with outstretched arms. We are out & about meeting people face-to-face, introducing ourselves and sharing what we believe in.

  2. […] to realize that marketing is all about ‘me’ not about him.  He needs to read this artrox thinks blog post on me-kerting! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Word on the Street   Leave a […]


Leave a comment